Mutual Aid Volunteer sharing — Charlotte Craig

Greenwich Mutual Aid
Mutual Aid as a startup
3 min readApr 6, 2020

The Greenwich Mutual Aid volunteers all come from different background, but have come together with the same aim — to help those in need.

We will be sharing some volunteer stories from the frontline in an interview format.

This week we are featuring Charlotte Craig. Charlotte has been volunteering since day 1 and always has a great energy that she brings to the community.

How did you start getting involved with Greenwich Mutual Aid?

I saw an article about local Mutual aid groups and saw that Greenwich had been set up. I contacted the Facebook group and joined the WhatsApp and offered my services.

What inspired you to start volunteering?

I have always done charity fundraising and wanted to help in the Covid-19 situation. I am low risk so thought that I could be put to good use! My grandparents live a long way away and I know that they would also be grateful for the help of mutual aid.

What’s your background?

I work as a Technical Operations Officer in Aviation Asset Management but also have experience of being the Operations Manager of Wimbledon Studios for 3 years.

What have you been doing?

Out doing shopping requests

I have been managing the Maze Hill WhatsApp group. Normally I am just ensuring that relevant content is being talked about. I triage and coordinate volunteers in my area.

I am also trying to get other wards up-to-speed on our triage processes and dealing with more serious cases that may need require further attention and support.

Recently I have been organising entertainment for the Facebook group to lift the spirits of our hardworking volunteers. (Check them out here and here) I am also assisting in steering the organisation and food donations for the hospital.

What’s the most difficult?

Seeing how people have fallen through the cracks in our social system and have nowhere to turn — including a number of mental health cases that do not have the support they should.

What’s the most fulfilling?

Seeing the smile on people’s faces when you have bought them shopping or helped them. Many people are scared / too proud / feel bad about asking for help. When they finally ask for the help and really getting the help they need is a great fulfilling moment.

What are some learnings from your experience in the volunteer frontline?

Never judge a book by its cover. You may think that someone is troublesome or a bit weird because he/she does not fall into a certain criteria. Sometimes the person just has nowhere to turn to and that Mutual Aid is the best last line of hope. Everyone is different and has their own story. Having had good opportunities in life does not make you better than the more unfortunate ones in life.

What’s next on the agenda?

My plan is to get more musicians and entertainers on the Facebook group as well as driving more initiatives- any ideas on initiatives? please email- greenwichmutualaid@gmail.com

Keep up with what Greenwich Mutual Aid is doing in our Mutual Aid as a startup publication.

--

--

Greenwich Mutual Aid
Mutual Aid as a startup

Greenwich Mutual Aid is a self-organising community to support the most vulnerable and isolated in our community during the Covid-19 outbreak.