90 Second interview: Matt Eng

MidwestUX
90 Second Interviews
1 min readSep 17, 2018

By Anja Harris

Matt Eng, a research team lead at IBM, talks about his #MWUX18 presentation and how he loves to see design work towards something bigger than a discrete experience.

Video Transcript:
Hi MidwestUX, my names Matt Eng and I’m the team lead for Public Cloud for IBM design. Design in my day to day work is taking those things that make a business (and in our case a technology) and making it consumable and usable for people. For MidwestUX what I’m gonna talk about is how my research team is bringing together different data points from our squad leads, from product management, from developers, and from design — marrying them together so that we have a more unified opinion going forward with what the vision for the experience and the product will be. Originally before design and before I got into design research I was an Anthropology major. At the end of the day it’s just really interesting to hear about human behaviors and how they do things. Like, how can we create something, an experience, and not nailing it to, for example, a social media app. But nailing it to something where this thing is not just a single contributor adding to what now is a lot of noise but is actually a conversation that people can digest, process, communicate, add opinions, and perhaps grow…

--

--