Making The Most of The Time

Debbie Ly
Made by Many NYC Internship
2 min readJul 22, 2016
During the sprint

This week began sprint 1!

It’s been a busy week full of synthesizing, building, and preparing for recruiting. I pushed hopefully my last pull request on the backend for this sprint! Now working through some react-native code which I’ve been excited to start.

As we separate into our own individual tasks, communication has been very important to keep on track with the rest of the team.

A few things I realized:

  1. It’s easy to know what you’re doing, but very hard to know what other people are doing if there is no structure. For me, there are JIRA, git logs, and various other places where I can be kept accountable. However, my time is the most ‘managed’ in a sense and it’s very hard to know what people on my team are working on because of the lack of structure on other aspects of the application development process.
  2. Communication is key. Going hand in hand with the point above, talking to each other about daily updates of what is going on is important. This week, there was a day I was so stuck on my own problems, I’m not sure I spoke to my teammates for the entire day — which is terrible and should not happen.
  3. The Shift From Designer -> Developer. I was a UI/UX Designer at my last company and sitting now in the position of a developer is strange. Because I’m so focused on the development of the application, I am not as involved in the design process and user interviews. There’s a level of involvement in design and development I want to balance, which will take a more concerted effort in the next few weeks.

--

--

Debbie Ly
Made by Many NYC Internship

Developer, designer, overthinker, and currently feeling at home in San Francisco