Adnan X. Khan
2015 Reading Challenge
2 min readJan 21, 2015

--

Interstellar (2014)

Calling All Bookworms: National Readathon Day 2015

What will you be reading?

In the words of intergalactic libarian Matthew McConaughey, “Alright, alright.” It’s time to curl up on your comfy sofa, grab a hot cup of Joe and dust off that book you’ve meaning to read for ages. (INTERSTELLAR fans, impressed?)

My fellow bookworms, this Saturday, January 23, 2015 is the first-ever National Readathon Day. We are invited to read between noon and 4pm (in our respective timezones)—for the love of books and in support of The National Book Foundation’s literacy programs. Read more at firstgiving.com

House of the Sleeping Beauties: And Other Stories

It didn’t take me long to pick what book I’ll be spending my four hours with: a collection called THE HOUSE OF THE SLEEPING BEAUTIES: AND OTHER STORIES written by the great Yasunari Kawabata, who was in fact so good that they had to give him the Nobel Prize for Literature in 1968.

Famous film director, playwright and radical Yukio Mishima (please watch Mishima: A Life in Four Chapters) described BEAUTIES as “an esoteric masterpiece”. The Financial Times (who know their business!) have called it “a poetic meditation on the twin themes of sexuality and death.” Sweeeeet.

Now, I have a particular fondness for Kawabata’s sparse, poetic style; so the question of my enjoyment is rather moot.

What I’m more curious to find out is how many pages I can manage in the given four hours? The book is just 152 pages…I mean let’s give it a shot! After all, it could be just the boost I need to make good on my Reading Challenge of 99 books. (I’m kinda behind already!)

Alright, alright…know that you know what I’m reading, what will YOU be reading on the National Readathon Day?

P.S. On Goodreads? Join the party and take the pledge today!

P.P.S. Oh, and use the hashtag #timetoread if you’re into tweeting.

--

--