Monday 15th May 2023, 3:45 pm

Who is Andrew Beattie?
My 2023 Year of Action
2 min readMay 15, 2023
We got love

I’m writing this from my desk at work again. I’ve just had a little stretch of my legs beforehand and bumped into a lad I met last week at a networking event who works in biodiversity. He showed me some artwork from a project he’s working on in North Liverpool to install pollinator plants and educate people about the insects that live in them. The artwork was beautiful and the project sounds lovely. The whole chance encounter on the pavement outside my office was a nice little lift as I near the end of the work day.

The city feels quiet today after several weeks of preparation for, and then the delivery of, Eurovision. I went to the arena to watch the semi-final rehearsals last week and then went on a Eurovision Hits ferry boat tour with my colleagues on Friday evening. It was a massive party, one that has dominated our year in many ways, and now it’s done. On Saturday morning my legs hurt from the dancing. It was a great party, and I’m a little sad that it’s all over.

But the sun is still shining and, according to the weather app on my phone, it’ll be sunny for the next 10 days or so. Maybe there will be more opportunities for dancing ahead.

I’m going to use the sunny weather to get out into my backyard this week and check in on my plants for the first time this year. Most of them haven’t reappeared this year and so I’ll maybe get some more seeds going and have a little tidy up out there to get it ready to escape to when the heat arrives. In the spirit of reconnecting with nature, I think I’ll get the bird feeders cleaned and get some seeds out, too. A nice post-party recovery activity.

But now it’s time to return to work, to get finished up so that I can spend some focused time with Max and the new Zelda game this evening. We’re still figuring out what the main quest of the game is, although it will involve running around and picking and cooking mushrooms. Maybe that could be a good summer activity for me and the boy in the real world. Be more Link. A nice idea.

This is part of a series that I’m writing over the next year, documenting the Year of Action campaign, and some of the things I’m doing to take action in 2023. #2023yearofaction

--

--

Who is Andrew Beattie?
My 2023 Year of Action

Dad. Wordscape, Kindred LCR, Ethos Magazine, The City Tribune, Homebaked CLT, School for Social Entrepreneurs.