Just let me be your guest

Monika Mani Swiatek
My 52 problems
Published in
5 min readJan 28, 2020

Since a while, I’m observing a worrying phenomenon that more and more companies and organizations think that we want to be their regulars. While we do not. They tell us to create the account (and bound with them) while we just want to buy/order/report something and go back to our lives.
It’s more and more difficult to have a one-off interaction with no strings attached because businesses are like an octopus hunting trying to catch the victim as soon as it gets closer.

Created and forgotten — what happens with accounts we’re forced to create?

Pushing the line

It started with loyalty cards. Companies wanted to show us that they “care” and gratify our loyalty with an extra coffee, sandwich etc. It all started small, but as I described in my previous post about Smartphones, they wanted us to get used to something we benefit from, then redesign and turn it the other way so they can benefit more exploiting the developed attachment.

Classic loyalty card was a card where we were collecting stamps. It wasn't best thing for me because I’ve lost many. But buying coffee was easy. Order, pay, give a card (if you had it) get your coffee. Simple and convenient.

The “befriending” experience

Nowadays simple loyalty cards are the thing of the past. Now you need to register or download an app to get an extra bonus. But at the same time, you’re giving an even bigger bonus to them, your data and purchasing habits which they are able to track.

Now when you go for a coffee, you order it, you GIVE AWAY YOUR PHONE to the hands of strangers (who does that?!) so they can scan your code and give you few points so you can earn your free coffee.

For me the experience is different. I go for a coffee, I order and for a minute I explain that despite I come there quite often I do not have an app and I do not wish to download it and get myself registered in their system and taking my phone memory space by another app which I don't need.

I just want my coffee.

Going to a shop I expect the face to face experience, I don't need my phone to be the enabler.

Recently Welsh BBC created a great video depicting in details how it would be if street shipping would be “as convenient” as an online shopping… the reality is chasing the nightmare.

Create an account

I’m a pragmatic person. I like things which are logic, simple and convenient. I don’t like creating new accounts. When I do, I do it for a reason. This is why I like Eventbrite, Meetup and (I have to admit) Amazon. I can buy/book a product/service/event from any provider via one portal with just few clicks. This is a good reason to create the account and use it from time to time. Having access to a wide range of services/products I have a big chance of coming back. But when I want to buy something I can’t find in these online shops or I come across something interesting elsewhere, where I probably make just one purchase and will never ever go back, the requirement to create the account to buy one thing is too much. Thanks, I'll pass. (Or I won't if it’s a backpack I love…)

Proportionate reason

I don't know why so many companies who went with the e-commerce flow still think they are so amazing that people to buy their products or use their services will create an account with them. Why? Why I’d create the account for a one-off visit? Why I’d like to give away my data and let them keep it, why I’d like to create extra fields in their database if it will just be covered with digital dust and become a digital waste taking space on their server? Even if after a while I’d like to go back I won't remember my password or even the fact I had the account as in the past I was forced to create so many.

I refuse to create another account without a good reason! I have one library card and I can use it in every library in Bristol and it works great! This is a good reason.

The fact that you can don’t mean you should

I understand that creating an online shop is not so difficult or expensive as it was in the past when only big companies could do it, but it doesn’t mean that if you can, you should give it a try and lock your products behind the wall inaccessible without the account.

If you run a business I ask you to create a seamless experience where your client does not need to create an account if it’s not needed. Ask yourself what is the benefit for them, not for you.
If you already have an online shop and require people to have the account to make a purchase try to change it, provide the guest check out and see what happens. There’s a big chance people will be more keen on using your shop. Especially when buying with PayPal is so easy so the system knows where to send the parcel.

Egocentric or open? A little case study

With events, many organisations use Eventbrite what I really like as I can buy/book tickets with few clicks. (The other side advantage for organisers, in that case, is that google search rank it quite high on the results page, so it’s easier to find it.)

Recently I came across a very interesting lecture and when I wanted to buy a ticket I was blocked by the “Create the account” wall. I could do it but I knew I won’t be probably going to their events any more and creating the account wasn’t a thing I had time for. It wasn’t a Victoria and Albert Museum which I would forgive such approach, it was a smaller institution who wanted to do everything inhouse even at the cost of the audience…

Despite a very interesting topic I gave up and promised myself never create an online shop which doesn’t provide a guest check out just requires a one-off client to be in disguise of a regular so I can look at numbers and enjoy how it’s rising overlooking the fact that these “people” are zombies, creatures of my imagination and egocentric approach. It looks good in stats but in reality, is a deterrent and creates many ghosts.

A call-out

If you run a business or you're a UX/web designer before you decide to create an online shop with no option to check out without an account ask yourself if it’s worth it, what your clients will get out of it? Don’t think about numbers use your common sense, it’s really easy.

Imagine that this is a guest, you're inviting to your home. Would you ask them to bring their slippers and leave in case they’ll be back or you’ll give them the spare ones?

This is my 23rd post from 52 problems series, feel free to catch up with my other articles about the way how technology affected our lives.
I know it could have been better, shorter, but I’m writing these articles in 3-day sprints.
I promise, after 52 posts I’ll go back and review each of them and apply all the things I've learned on the way.

--

--

Monika Mani Swiatek
My 52 problems

Trying to decide if I should be a warning or an example to others today... Feminist, sceptic, alleged stoic, public servant and bookaholic trying to write.