Things which we can’t control; the future of air travel

Monika Mani Swiatek
My 52 problems
Published in
3 min readFeb 11, 2020

Yes, despite our technological progress we can't do whatever we want, whenever we want to, there are still things we can’t control.

We feel like rulers of the world but still; we need to respect and listen to the weather. The force of nature can surprise us out of the blue, literally.

I’m writing this post from the airport, hoping that my plane will reach Warsaw and take me home to Bristol.

Information is power (or at least give peace of mind)

There’s a chance that won’t be cancelled. Google calendar sent me an update that there’s an hour delay (didn’t know about this functionality, it’s a nice surprise I knew about that about 40 minutes before it was announced.) Thanks to the internet connection I can check Bristol departures screen and see that the plane left Bristol with the delay mentioned in the google update. But still, I need to keep fingers crossed that it will land here and be able to take off.
Few planes are delayed few hours or cancelled and people had to leave the plane as they announced cancellation when the plane finished boarding.

The support and comfort toy

A smartphone is something we reach for every reason, especially when we’re stressed or want to kill time. A dead battery is a horror scenario for everyone who relies on a mobile phone while travelling. We may have there our tickets, hostile reservation details, maps, everything that makes our trip nice and easy. A vision of having it all cut off is a disaster. This is I always try to have a hard copy of all the essential information on paper.

Now all the people are on their phones checking flight updates and hostels nearby in case if their flights will be cancelled.
My family live 40 minutes by car from here so I’m not super stressed but I’ve heard about people who came 200miles to catch the plane. The airport is quite in the middle of nowhere with public transport but not so excellent at night (it’s about 10 pm now)

Phones can help us find alternative solutions, contact families but the disruption caused by the weather has no mercy.

Change of habits

When air travel became more accessible, we got used that quite fast. Carbon footprint is a serious issue but not a big deterrent for many (guilty as charged). But if the weather will become more disruptive, we may take a step back and consider travelling using different means of transport.

Our travel can become more adventurous but also more expansive. I think that we need to consider all the consequences related to air travel and make conscious decisions incorporating risk as a thing more likely to happen and planning for it. This way we’ll be less stressed in the case of any disruptions and will have a backup plan.

We’re used to controlling our lives in every aspect but still, there are situations we need to give up and do what we’re told or look for alternative solutions.

Thanks for reading my 25th story from My 52 problems series, which is a part of #write52 initiative.

If you have any questions or comments feel free to write here or on Twitter.

--

--

Monika Mani Swiatek
My 52 problems

Trying to decide if I should be a warning or an example to others today... Feminist, sceptic, alleged stoic, public servant and bookaholic trying to write.