How I Plan to Become a Professional Software Developer

Samuel Plumppu
My Adventure
Published in
2 min readJun 1, 2016
The journey awaits!— Image by Dirk-Jan van Roest

I like challenges. Sometimes they inspire me to keep going. Sometimes they give me new perspectives. But occasionally they feel overwhelming and it’s in these exact moments that it really helps to have a good mindset.

It’s impossible to be perfect, but important to at least try to frame challenging situations as opportunities to learn

In the coming year, I want to become a professional developer. By continually learning new things, this is how I plan to achieve it:

  • Earn the four certifications (Front End, Data Visualization, Back End and Full Stack) offered by the open source community Free Code Camp
  • Contribute to FCC’s curriculum by adding a section about web application security.
  • Get real world experience and learn about the software development industry through jobs, internships or non-profit work through FCC.
  • Regularly post updates here on Medium to document my journey at the same time as I reflect and learn from my projects.
  • Publish my projects to GitHub and showcase them in the portfolio on my website.

There will definitely be times when my challenges feel overwhelming.
But with continuity, good routines and a good mindset, I will try to tackle one small problem at a time and see them as opportunities to both develop my skills and grow as a person.

With that said, I’m thrilled to continue learning!

--

--