Day 1 Of My BP Management Journey

2 December 2023

Abhilash Chandrashekar
My BP Management Journey
3 min readDec 3, 2023

--

Someone using a digital BP monitor to measure BP
Photo by Mockup Graphics on Unsplash

Introduction

The last time I had BP medication was on November 30 when my BP readings were:

  1. 139/103 @ 75 bpm
  2. 136/101 @ 73 bpm
  3. 133/101 @ 72 bpm
  4. Average is 136/101.67 @ 73.33 bpm

Here the first number is the systolic pressure; the second number the diastolic pressure; the third number the heart rate.

Why were three readings taken? I will explain below.

Standard Procedure For BP Measurement

The standard procedure for BP measurement is:

  1. Rest of 5 minutes in a chair with the back supported and arms and legs uncrossed.
  2. Take the first reading as per the instructions of the BP monitor. This is usually the left arm supported at a height such that the centre of the biceps is in line with the heart and the arm band must not be too tight or too loose. It must be possible to slip in a finger easily between the arm and the armband, but not looser.
  3. Wait for one minute.
  4. Take second reading.
  5. Wait for another minute.
  6. Take third reading.
  7. Take average of the three readings. Unlike other measurements, pay more attention to outliers like too high or too low BP.

BP Ranges

BP beyond 180/120 is stroke-level BP and the main purpose of BP management is to avoid this level of BP. This doesn’t mean BP has to be 180 and 120. It is ‘or’. Either value getting exceeded is dangerous.

BP beyond 130/90 requires treatment. What if BP is 125/95? What I do is consider 1.5 mm systolic pressure = 1 mm diastolic pressure, because the normal pressure is 120/80 which is in the ratio 1.5:1.

So, to negate 5 mm of diastolic pressure, we need systolic pressure to be 7.5 mm of mercury below the threshold of 130.

So, for 122/95, I don’t take BP medication. For 125/95, I will.

BP below 90/60 also may be fatal. This brings us to the reason why I decide every day whether to take BP medication or not instead of blindly taking it every day like almost everybody else with BP.

I have found when measuring BP about 12 hours after taking BP medication that the maximum reduction is 23 mm for both systolic as well as diastolic pressure.

Consider a BP of 131/82. If I were to take medication for this reading, my diastolic might reduce to 59 which is dangerous.

Hence, I believe measuring BP every day before deciding whether to take BP medication or not for that day is more sensible, logical and scientific.

My BP Medication Routine

Usually, my BP exceeds 130/90 every 2 days. So, I take BP medication on alternate days. So, December 2 was the due date for taking BP medication.

But when I checked my BP on December 2, it was:

  1. 116/91 @ 73 bpm
  2. 125/85 @ 81 bpm
  3. 119/92 @ 74 bpm
  4. Average is 120/89.33 @ 76 bpm

Conclusion

Since BP is below 130/90, I will not take BP medication. The justification is that BP between 120/80 to 130/90 can be treated by lifestyle changes.

When doctors need to decide whether to put you on medication or not, they are supposed to put you on medication only if your BP as measured reliably by, say, a 24 hour ABPM (ambulatory blood pressure monitor–a fancy way of saying the monitor is attached to you) is more than 130/90.

When this threshold can be used to decide whether to begin BP treatment or not, why can’t it be used to make the decision every day?

Now, do I have to do this? I believe so. Like I said, we must strive to keep BP above 90/60 and we can check what is the maximum reduction in BP after 12 hours.

But what if there’s a larger reduction that makes your BP too low? To account for this we need a buffer and that buffer is between 120/80 and 130/90.

For more updates like this and to download a sample of my upcoming romance novel, ‘Woman Whisperer’, click here.

It’s about a man who understands women. With this knowledge, he can get any woman he wants. Unfortunately, this continues even after marriage. Now, he must choose between the true love he meets and staying married, for his kid’s sake. What will he do?

--

--

Abhilash Chandrashekar
My BP Management Journey

Poet and author of 'The Woman Whisperer', 'November 2023 Chapbook', 'The Men Who Understood Women', 'Aesop's Modern Bedtime Fables' and a Substack newsletter.