Day 4 Of My BP Management Journey

December 5 2023

Abhilash Chandrashekar
My BP Management Journey
3 min readDec 6, 2023

--

A white male checking an Asian’s blood pressure
Photo by CDC on Unsplash

BP Readings

The readings are:

  1. 135/90 @ 67 bpm
  2. 130/90 @ 67 bpm
  3. 130/95 @ 68 bpm

Average is 131.67/91.67 @ 67.33 bpm. One thing to notice is the heart rate has come down due to my weight training. This is a good thing as athletes have a heart rate of around 60.

The Treatment

I was originally prescribed an optional BP medication, Cardace, as the doctor felt I was suffering from anxiety.

Since it was optional and I was reluctant to take BP medication, I didn’t take it.

On a subsequent visit, years later, the doctor prescribed Olmesartan 40 mg for 6 months. I took it for 3 months and started suffering from low BP and dizziness.

I had gone to the doctor because of dizziness due to high BP. I had taken this seriously, as fainting in the middle of a road, into a pool with no one around, from a height, on something sharp, on a kid, can all cause death.

Disillusioned that the treatment didn’t get me anywhere, I stopped the medication instead of going to the doctor to get the dosage lowered.

Years later, I visited a different doctor due to extreme exhaustion and he prescribed telmisartan 20 mg.

I found that this also lowered my BP too much and that I didn’t feel as good as I had felt while taking olmesartan.

So, I tried olmesartan 20 mg. I know self-medication is not good, but if my treatment is better than the doctors’, it makes sense.

I found this also lowered my BP too much. I tried olmesartan 10 mg and it works very well for me.

I forgot to take the medication on time and took it at 8 pm. I had felt unusually irritable towards my kids until I took the tablet. This is usually an indication that my BP is high enough to take the medicine.

Conclusion

I will measure my BP after 12 hours of taking medicine and then again after 24 hours and decide on whether to take the next dose or not.

--

--

Abhilash Chandrashekar
My BP Management Journey

Poet and author of 'The Woman Whisperer', 'November 2023 Chapbook', 'The Men Who Understood Women', 'Aesop's Modern Bedtime Fables' and a Substack newsletter.