Which way shall I go?

Rajiv Chopra
Our Planet. Our Life.
2 min readJul 11, 2024
©RajivChopra. What should my direction be?

Back after a long time.

I’ve been away from this site for a long time, and the primary reason is that it is almost impossible to monetize the posts. Medium.com does not reward writers based in India, and it sucks big time!

I am back, and now I must decide which direction this publication will take. I started by writing about photography, then moved to climate change and global warming, created a mishmash of everything, and made a complete mess.

Since I went away.

Since then, I have started a Substack publication focused on my travels in India. I decided not to include my international travel because all my journeys took place long ago, and I now want to focus on my future travels in India.

Photography. I have a website, but I must decide on the tone and subject of my blog posts. Anything related to business strategy goes to LinkedIn, and I am considering the occasional sarcastic article on Patreon.

Climate change & global warming bother me.

Climate change, environmental destruction, and global warming concern me, as should anyone else. However, I am not a climate scientist and don’t wish to write rubbish. I spent many years in the ‘food and health’ industry—even though I studied metallurgical engineering—so I will focus on the impact of heat and climate change on human health. We are getting fried, and I am unsure what world we intend to leave our children in. Pious words alone will not help.

The world has become polarized, inequality is rising, right-wing leaders are on the march, and we live in an increasingly dystopian world. People do not wish to think. However, I realize I may get mixed up if I focus on all my dark, cynical stuff on this site.

Climate Change is complex & should bother everyone.

What about war? I intend to write about war because it speeds up climate change, causes global warming, and causes untold misery. I may touch on issues of consumerism because unbridled consumerism will mess up our planet. For instance, Mukesh Ambani, Chairman of Reliance Industries, wishes to invest in green hydrogen because it is ‘sustainable’ and good for the planet. Yet the impact of his son’s pre-wedding and wedding is massive and contradicts any claim to sustainability.

After writing, I will focus on climate, environment, and pollution as a ‘concerned human,’ not a scientist. Maybe this is the best approach.

Climate, our earth, extinction, and human and animal health.

The end!

--

--

Rajiv Chopra
Our Planet. Our Life.

From being a good corporate citizen, I am now a photographer, author &business advisor. India is my home. I also lived in the UK, China, Singapore & Switzerland