Anne Atkins
My Commonplace Book
1 min readMar 16, 2018

--

Honest to God, this is the entire conversation. Beginning to end. Verbatim.

– What can I do for you?

– I can’t sleep.

– How long has this being going on for?

– I can’t remember.

– You seem weary.

– Yes.

– Is that just because of not being able to sleep, or are there other issues?

– Other issues.

– I’ve got some tissues round here somewhere.

– Sorry. [Use of tissue.] I just thought you could give me something to make me sleep.

– You don’t want to take too many. They can be addictive.

– I know.

– I’m just giving you two weeks’ worth.

– [Glimmer of hope.] Are you new?

– I’m retired.

– This is a long shot. Can you get treatment for our daughter? No one else…

– No. I’m just helping out. There you are. Goodbye.

– Thank you.

--

--

Anne Atkins
My Commonplace Book

Novelist. One-time Shakespearean actor. Journalist, broadcaster and commentator if you pay me enough. Mother of far too many. Lover of one alone.