Memories

The Story of My First True Christmas

Recalling the time that I met Jesus on the day of His birth

Janis Cox
My Creative Mind
Published in
3 min readDec 25, 2020

--

Christmas Card 2020 by Janis Cox

When did the Christmas Story take hold of me?

One Christmas Eve, we visited a different church in our small town. It was dark when we arrived at the little church.

Haliburton United Church — personal photo

Stained glass windows adorned the walls. We walked in through the narthex at the back of the church.

At the front of Haliburton United church. Personal photo.

A buzz of voices greeted us as we entered. A lovely small woman met us at the door and welcomed us to the Christmas Eve service. We found a seat.

A few people said hello but I will never forget the smile on that lovely woman’s face when she said, “Hello, my name is Eleanor.”

We sang Christmas carols and then it was time for the message. The minister rose and walked to the podium.

Then something happened.

--

--

Janis Cox
My Creative Mind

Creativity Spiritual Catalyst. Author/Illustrator. Jesus follower. Growing Through God's Word FB group for reading the Bible. janiscox.com