Thoughts we think: Ordering Lunch

Rae Katz
My Enemy’s Enemy
Published in
1 min readJul 30, 2019

Throughout our careers so far we’ve wondered: am I just imagining that the lunch ordering question is directed at me? Do they all think I should be ordering the lunch, or is it me that thinks I should be the lunch girl, that I deserve to be, or maybe it’s that I’m just comfortable in that role?

One of the most insidious parts of subtle office sexism for us is the way it can cast internal doubt on every moment. Was that compliment really about my work, or was it about my tight pencil skirt? Am I on this panel because they love my ideas, or because they needed a woman?

What would I feel like in the office if I could just order lunch for everyone, sometimes, without reading into it?

--

--

Rae Katz
My Enemy’s Enemy

Essayist, ex-CEO, mom, proud inhabiter of a female body with a menstrual cycle, infertility, Hashimoto’s Disease, OCD, and that magical female strength