My Experience of OpenCode 2018

Ritika Motwani
My Experience with OPenCode 2018
2 min readFeb 12, 2018

OpenCode is an open-source event organised by GeekHaven, IIIT Allahabad. The event is great for beginners who want to get started in the field of open source and learn various things about it right from the basic level to the advanced level. It also helps to improve your coding techniques and gain some experience in development.

It was a month long event and helped me learn various things. I worked on the repository which was exclusively for girls. Being a beginner in the field of open source it helped me get friendly with the various git commands.

I made a lot of contributions to the site. I made the preloader, proper scrolling options for various sections and fork on github ribbon.

I made three proper sections for that site which had animating effects. They were Contact, Women Organizations, Contributors. The contributors added were in a proper json format.
I added a form too for users to reach the organizers. Open code also helped me improve my testing skills. I removed a lot of bugs of the site. I also opened some issues for the same.

Contact Section:

Women Organizations Section:

Contributors:

It was a great experience for me. I enjoyed a lot doing different things for the competition like opening issues, solving them, claiming issues opened by the organizers, creating pull requests. It gave me real happiness whenever my PR was merged. It was a great event and I am thankful to all the mentors to guide and motivate me throughout the event.

--

--