A Poet Is Made Like This

Poetry

Words by Egypt
My Fair Lighthouse
2 min readMay 19, 2024

--

Photo by Darius Bashar on Unsplash

A poet isn’t made through high education
reading notable works of poetry
or hours listening to literary greats
a poet isn’t made from an ego full of praise
or a merry heart full of cheer

a poet is made from hearts aching
and promises broken,
they are made from deeply buried anger
and a soul steeped in acid
yet somehow still wants to go on

poetry is birthed in the hearts of a person
who lives in a world where loss is all too familiar
and where sunshine is
replaced by a darkness
that only putting pen to paper can shake off

a poet is made as much from passion and fire
as they are from pain and despair
a poet is created from broken hearts
trying desperately to catch their breaths
in this world

poetry comes from weakened souls
holding dearly to any hope of reprieve

this is how a poet is made my friend

Poet’s note: I’m Egypt, a poet and writer. I write at the intersection of poetry, words, and thoughts. I’m a lover of life, I’ve been hurt, and I still have hope. I’m healing and learning from it all. Writing and poetry have been powerful tools on my journey. I write to express, touch divinity, and liberate my heart.

Follow me or subscribe
More poetry

--

--

Words by Egypt
My Fair Lighthouse

Essayist, Poet, and Writer. Dancing at the intersection of words and thoughts. https://ko-fi.com/wordsbyegypt