a valentine’s poem

would that i: adapted in reverse

katie oates
My Fair Lighthouse
Mar 27, 2024

--

oh you’re good to me,
oh so good to me.

it is tonight
when i’m set alight
and i blink in your sight,
your bright, shiny light.
oh it’s tonight
when you hold me tight,
like fire,
bright,
blazing.

a rise in the heat
as bright as the pure, white snow,
i fell in love,
we fell in love;
transfixed by our hands,
holding tight,
oh so tight
in the brisk, damp air.
oh it’s tonight.

here in awe we stand,
in the ember glow of our love,
we blink
in the blinding light,
set ablaze;
let it spark,
let it move and dance,
on stable ground,
like the wood we burn on.

oh you’re good to me,
oh so good to me.

Album Cover of “Wasteland, Baby!” by Hozier [Public Domain]

this poem is inspired and adapted from “would that i” by hozier.

--

--

katie oates
My Fair Lighthouse

phd: art history & photography; letters, words, poetry; theory