Ghost Stories

A poem about how the subconscious finds redress, even when we cannot find it in our waking lives

Daniel Dillon
My Fair Lighthouse
Jan 24, 2024

--

Overexposed photograph showing the hazy imagery of a girl with a red inner tube and trees in the background
Photo by Ella Arie on Unsplash

I woke from a dream

we were hanging out all casual

you chatting, something something

but I couldn’t stop the tears

And then we got into a red convertible

and on a wide bend in the road I mouthed

an abdication

letting the wheel slip back to center,

crashing into a utility box at

slow motion dream speed

Doing violence to us like

the season your heart hardened,

trashing everything we were and never

looking back

--

--

Daniel Dillon
My Fair Lighthouse

Austin, TX-based writer, musician, and homesteader with a dose of policy research from nine to five.