Love poetry

I have always wanted to meet you

A poem on the terror of love

Words by Egypt
My Fair Lighthouse

--

Man and woman lovers embracing
Photo by Allan Dias on Unsplash

“You have to keep breaking your heart until it opens.” -Rumi

I have always wanted to meet you
Even though I didn’t know it then

It was only until that first touch
Did I realize my heart fully for the first time
Thoughts of this tender moment ceasing to be
Crushes my heart with the force of Zeus himself

What cruelty do the gods harbor to make my heart so deep yet so shallow?
That it is easily shattered by the distance of your touch
Now I fear with a fatal terror
That if you depart me
I will depart this world

When my body meets yours, I forget which is mine and which is yours
How did this insanity befall me?
Surely if this is what love bears
Perhaps I should refuse this blissful terror

For now, I know in the strength of the human heart
Lies the greatest weakness
We all yearn for a terrible love
That has the power to heal us and obliterate us

I have always wanted to meet you
Now I always want to be met by you

Poet’s note: I’m Egypt, a poet and writer. I write at the intersection of poetry, words, and thoughts. I’m a lover of life, and on a journey to transform my pain into meaning and healing. Writing and poetry have been powerful tools on my journey. I write to express, touch divinity, and liberate my heart. Thanks for reading.

Follow me or Subscribe
more poetry

--

--

Words by Egypt
My Fair Lighthouse

Writer and Poet. Dancing at the intersection of words and thoughts.