Incidents at the Sea

Maritime misadventures

Annida
My Fair Lighthouse
Feb 25, 2024

--

On the North Sea by Olga Wisinger-Florian [Public Domain]

In my fatigue, at sea I did flail,
Ale my solace, a weary sailor’s tale.
Cried out for aid, oh what a fuss,
But the sea’s grip held, without a cuss,
Just me and the waves, in a comic travail!

As Greek fire engulfed my ship so tight,
I found warmth amidst the cold’s biting spite.
Though a seafarer’s plight,
Turned to an observer’s light,
My ship’s demise was quite the sight!

Amidst the waves, a seagull’s cry,
Brought laughter to sailors passing by.
But with a flap of its wing,
It broke something, a string!
Now the ship’s in a mess, oh my, oh why!

This is my response to the Pier 21 Prompt, “Nautical Limerick” which I’ll link below:

--

--

Annida
My Fair Lighthouse

If I write what I feel, it's to reduce the fever of feeling. What I confess is unimportant, because everything is unimportant. - Fernando Pessoa