My Father,
Do Not Go, With Fierce Tears, I Pray

Erasure Poem Inspired By Dylan Thomas

Homera Hassan
My Fair Lighthouse
2 min readJun 16, 2024

--

Photo by Steve DiMatteo on Unsplash

Gentle
Good night
Burn and rave
At close of day

Rage
Against the dying of the light

Wise men
Know

No
Do not go
Into that good night

With blinding sight
Eyes
Blaze like meteors

Rage
Against the dying of the light

My Father
Sad
Bless me
With
Fierce Tears
I pray

Do not go
Into that good night
Rage
Against the dying of the light

Photo by Jon Tyson on Unsplash

This erasure poem is inspired by Welsh poet Dylan Thomas’s evocative poem, Do not go gentle into that good night, written in 1947 and published in 1951.

Image by Author

Writing prompt:

Forget not our fathers, our silent heroes!

Rely on them for anything and everything…

The bank of dear Dad,

The free taxi service,

Can’t cook,

But

King of the Barbeque!

Catching those creepy crawlies,

Dispensing their neverending wealth of knowledge,

When all you wanted to know was where the remote control was?

And there’s always a meaningful history lesson

Attached to all you say and do!

Because

“Back in my day…”

Thank you,

Evermore

Mon cher père!

Tous les jours

Bonne fête des pères!

Et

Tout le monde.

Thank you for reading!

Merci de votre lecture!

--

--