Writing Prompt

Pier 21 Prompts

First prompt: Reunion

Willow Schroeder
My Fair Lighthouse
Published in
2 min readJan 21, 2024

--

Photo by Kinga Howard on Unsplash

I’ve been drawn to the number 21 for as long as I can remember. It likely had a lot to do with growing up in the US, where the number 21 holds a lot of significance. It’s when you’re finally recognized as being an adult, of age to rent a car, drink alcohol, buy cannabis (in about half of the states), gamble, go to nightclubs — you know, all the good stuff.

My birthday is also on March 21, so my 21st bithday was a “golden” birthday. As a teenager, I got drawn into the hype of shopping at Forever 21 and it was my favorite store for the longest time. I was convinced that 21 would be my peak year in life.

Was it? Most definitely not, but I do have good memories from that age. I had been living on my own since 18, studying French at university and I had established a network of close friends.

Now, as I drift further away from age 21, I still see it as a beacon of the start of adulthood. I have compassion for the moments where I floundered around in too much alcohol, uncertain and anxious about what lay ahead.

Anyway, I’d like to introduce something new here at My Fair Lighthouse: monthly writing prompts!

On the 21st of every month, I will post a new writing prompt. I’ll dock them all in the tab called “Pier…

--

--

Willow Schroeder
My Fair Lighthouse

American expat living in Germany. English teacher, writer, photographer and avid traveler. Editor of My Fair Lighthouse. I require a constant supply of tea.