Raindrops in My Earphones

Echoed thoughts in my bedroom

Annida
My Fair Lighthouse
1 min readMay 13, 2024

--

One bedroom apartment (1924) by Mikuláš Galanda [Public Domain]

My bedroom does not have any windows facing the streets,
so why
can I hear rain precipitating through my new wireless earphones,
the ones I texted you about on another Sunday?

Supposedly, I should be deaf to my thoughts.
Supposedly, I skimmed three articles, all in English,
while leaving my boombox playing any foreign song,
not English, and nothing more,
for English was my first unlocked door.

From this bedroom, where I can lay bare my pondering
and not worrying about neither of no one’s comprehension
or miscomprehension, I know my words are bound
to get misconstrued the moment they leave the room.

However, it is a downpour outside my room
and I want to get this out of my head today,
but alas, neither of us are listening anymore
to what the singer is singing on the stereo.

This is my response to the Pier 21 Prompt, “Rain” which I’ll link below:

--

--

Annida
My Fair Lighthouse

If I write what I feel, it's to reduce the fever of feeling. What I confess is unimportant, because everything is unimportant. - Fernando Pessoa