The art of letting go

life budding after a suffering

Meenakshi Malhotra
My Fair Lighthouse
2 min readMay 17, 2024

--

Photo by Mulyadi on Unsplash

I etched my rainbow with utopian colors
my horizon was made of psychedelic pixie dust

you were my fairy with the magic wand
but the evil forces took you away
my aura crashed into a mirror maze
and it was all monochrome

the brume had lasted long enough
soaking my soul with the weight of lost charisma
looking for answers since the day you left

this frigid layer engulfing hopes and dreams
was a tedious task to break through
standing on the edge of a lost tunnel with no end

my strides were shorter and nugatory
it felt like running on a Ferris wheel
puffing my vigour with hollow strides

still and stagnant
it was all about overcoming
the puerile urge to cling
with your vivid memories
not letting go of what is lost

was it the weakness of the mind or
was it the unending search
for a wishful tomorrow?

seasons change
and so do aspirations

with a nudge from the embedded strength
rose a phoenix from the crumbling core
and the revelry lay in what life teaches

when the rustling leaves roll with the winds
complacent, they take its direction

the changing time always gives an interface
with something new, something fresh
so breathe through it, rejuvenate
go places, connect, and celebrate life.

One doesn’t feel like moving on whenever there is a personal loss. This happened to me on an unfortunate night. I kept looking for answers till the point I realized losing myself.

I have learned to let go of painful memories and regale in the joyful ones.

Although the unanswered void remains, I live this life hoping to find my answers in the faraway lands.

THANKS FOR READING.

--

--

Meenakshi Malhotra
My Fair Lighthouse

I have learnt to be in a happy space since I started penning down my perspective as a poet and a writer.