I’ve Been Absent: Here’s Why

Transparency, Motherhood, and Pregnancy

Ghia Smith
My Favorite Group Project
3 min readJan 1, 2024

--

Motherhood has, and will continue to, kick my ass. And that’s okay.

Photo of Author via Canva

This week I’ve found myself very overstimulated. My partner and I have shifted into different career paths that allow both of us to be home a bit more (though I’m already a #wfhmom) and it’s been amazing. However, I’ve felt even more overwhelmed. I’m not sure of the root of the situation, but that’s what’s happening.

When I get overstimulated I find that my temper is shorter and my irritability is through the roof (especially since I’m around 7 months pregnant). That being said, some of the nuances you experience with a now mobile infant can be exhausting. The constant crawling out of my sight, the anxiety of him eating something off of the floor and choking, bumping his head on a variety of surfaces, and the list goes on.

Of course I’m so proud of his progress and his stellar development, but the mom guilt is eating me right now.

Consistency is (Should be) Key

I’ve not been very consistent at keeping up with my content creation, among other calendars. There’s no excuse. I’m tired. I’m overwhelmed. And frankly I couldn’t stand the heat in the kitchen, so I got out. Now that the new year is upon us, I thought I’d address this. I’m not sure how many actually read this, but here’s to those that do.

Photo by Markus Winkler on Unsplash

I apologize for my inconsistencies. I know that is something that can drive away supporters. My goal is to create a community where we can all just embrace our weaknesses and grow together as mothers, and just as humans in general. Moving forward, I’ll set more realistic goals. I’ve tried setting goals like:

“Two to three blogs a week, 3 social posts, 3 blogs for my freelance contract, another article for LinkedIn once a week…”

It’s not impossible, but for a mom of #2kidsunder2, it has proven to be quite the challenge.

Goal Setting Revamped

Moving into 2024, I have to be real with myself; with my goals. I’m not going to promise anything that I can’t deliver on. If it feels like too much, chances are, it is.

Photo by Christina @ wocintechchat.com on Unsplash

I’m trusting my gut.

That’s all I have for today, but you can look forward to more content. Maybe at a slower pace, but I prefer quality over quantity.

Until next time, light and love mamas (and papas).

Give me a follow on Instagram, subscribe to my YouTube Channel, and subscribe to my newsletter for updates on upcoming content.

Have an Interesting story, interview, or topic you’d like me to talk about?

Let Me Know!

--

--

Ghia Smith
My Favorite Group Project

Yes. Your mother was right about me. Writer & editor for My Favorite Group Project on Medium.