7. Long-term

Dave Freiburger
My First Book and Its Takeaways
2 min readJul 30, 2018

This week we are going to take a look at my book’s 7th out of 8 takeaways: Long-term

Last week I wrote about Ideation and how it shouldn’t be suppressed in any company. I also talked about how all ideas, good or bad should be heard.

Now, it wouldn’t be smart to test bad ideas, only the good ones in an organization.

In my book I mention, “When companies care more about value than profit, the long-term retention and relationship you build with the consumer scales with the right amount of patience.”

With the right intention and time, ideas and plans can result in higher value than it would with shorter-term thinking.

My favorite example, is an example that I’m seeing play out right before my eyes. I joined a startup at the beginning of the summer and right from the beginning I noticed how sound and safe the culture was.

Although I don’t know for certain, the culture began as an idea. The founders and executives agreed how they wanted the culture to be and ever since it continued to shape the company to where it is today.

Long-term, what does this do for the company? That is, having a welcoming, and overall amazing culture.

Nobody has a crystal ball, so this is all speculation, but it can be argued that the culture will lead to more ideation, more learning from failure — which leads to incremental personal and company growth, more reflection of this culture towards the companies customers (which leads to more satisfied customers).

I talk more about long-term thinking, planning, execution, and empathy in my book if you are curious! Here’s a link to my book titled: The Creative Company: How Creative Execution and Empathy Result in Long-term Value!

Thank you so much for reading and I hope you learned and continue to learn something new this week!

--

--