Photo by Job Savelsberg on Unsplash

Coming Back To Our Hobby After A Long Break

Efi Asvesti
My Greek Teacher

--

We feel like holidays hold us back in our goals. In holidays we gain some weight and we feel we have forgotten what we have learnt in a language or any mental hobby we have.

Every single student tells me “I have forgotten everything we did, I didn’t study at all during Christmas/Summer Holidays, we will have to start from zero.

This reminds me a story of a schoolmate I had in High school. We had a test and she came to the classroom very stressed and told me “I don’t remember anything for the test,I have forgotten everything”.

I wanted to comfort her. I didn’t know what to tell her but I wanted to tell her something to help her. So I told her :

“You don’t have a question in front of you, how can you remember the answer of a question that does not exist?”

In her stress she asked me what I was talking about and then I explained to her something that was unfolding at that moment in my mind, but helped me afterwards in my life. I told her that she was giving the command to herself that she had forgotten everything. If she had a question of the material she had studied in front of her, I…

--

--