What My Failures In Learning Languages Taught Me

All The Mistakes I Made As A Learner

Efi Asvesti
My Greek Teacher

--

It sounds crazy to my ears that soon I will hit 30 years in learning languages. It sounds cool but this is normal in countries where English is not the mother tongue. We all get exposed to (at least) the English language in one way or another, the attitude and the mentality changes according to a narration someone follows.

In Greece we have a culture of learning foreign languages. Being raised in the 90’s this was your parents’ dream, pride and duty as parents. The majority of our parents didn’t speak foreing languages and this was their aspiration for their kids.

As my mum has always told me: “You have the value of more than one human when you speak one foreign language”.

A phrase I still disagree with till today for many reasons, but that’s another article.

So, from the age of nine, I got my books, my notebooks and bla bla and started playing this game called “I Learn A Foreign Language”

Basically, to tell you the truth, the mistakes we will talk about were inevitable back in these years. It was part of a system that created a mentality where…

--

--