Final Week: The curtain falls

Amrita Chaturvedi
My GSoC Diary with SCoRe Lab
3 min readAug 26, 2019

It feels like yesterday, when I recall of the night of May 6, 2019, I was glued to the GSoC’s Projects page waiting for the clock to tick at 11:30 PM (as the results were to be announced at that time) hitting refresh button one more time and take my chances. Seeing my name there with a project associated with it was a moment of mixed feeling, I was nervous, super happy, anxious all at the same time. It was a moment of ecstasy.

As it’s said, Time flies when you are having fun. I really can’t believe today, it’s the last day of my incredible journey of Google Summer of Code with SCoRe Lab. For budding developers, like me, GSoC helps you a lot understanding the Software development process.

What did I work on?

NodeCloud is a standard library to get a single API on the open cloud with multiple providers. Making open cloud easily accessible and managed. My project was to develop a full-stack application, providing an interactive front-end to the user, through which he can access the capabilities of NodeCloud in an interactive manner.

The server-end implemented in nodejs with express, was responsible for interacting with the database (using knexjs as SQL query builder), the nodecloud core sdk and it’s plugins, namely nodecloud-azure-plugin, nodecloud-aws-plugin and nodecloud-gcp-plugin. The client-end implemented in react using redux, provided a user interactive dashboard.

Let’s go through some screenshots of the application, to get a better understanding of what actually was done.

Right after logging in to the application the user can see the list of currently running services, for the selected provider. There in he/she also has options to create new services and delete the existing ones.

Want to know more about it? I have created a video demonstrating a quick walk-through of the application available on youtube.

The entire project report can be found here.
Do hit the project at https://github.com/cloudlibz/nodecloud-web to explore more about it.

I have also added the API documentation on SwaggerHub.

What’s next?

The project currently just has AWS, Azure, and GCP available and has the potential to add more cloud provider such as DigitalOcean and Ali Cloud.
Also, there can be a lot many more features that can be implemented to the project such as the update feature.

I would love to take care of the repository and continue to commit to it, even after GSoC.

Closing Note

I am very thankful to my mentors: Rumesh, Rajika, Rajendra and Pratik, who have provided there their invaluable support and insight towards the development of this project. I really loved working with SCoRe Lab and would want to be associated with them in the future too.

So far this has been the best summers, Thanks to Google for this program.
More power to you all! Cheers!

--

--