Week 11&12: Test! Test! Test

Amrita Chaturvedi
My GSoC Diary with SCoRe Lab
1 min readAug 24, 2019

With the third month of GSoC’19 approaching it’s end, and completion of most of the tasks now is the time for testing the application.

As part of the project, we have to do unit testing. Before GSoC, I had no prior experience of testing, and I learned it hard way around.

For my project nodecloud-web, separate testing has to be done for the server-end and the client-end, with a lot of confusion of which testing framework to choose between jest and mocha. I decided to go along with jest for react-end and mocha server-end.

The implementation looked very easy in the documentation, but I remember wrapping my head around it for days on a single issue, not able to make head or tail of what was going wrong.

It took me a while to get a hang of it, but then with the guidance of my mentors, who gave a clear view of what the test cases should do, I was finally able to get the tests running and passing.

For the final week, it would be all about wrapping things up and writing more test cases.

--

--