Electing women is something we do

Elizabeth Warren says that running for office is something that girls do. She explains that to little girls on the campaign trail and when she does, she is changing the way they see the world and their opportunities. I wish someone had told me that. I wish someone had changed the narrative about women in politics a long time ago. But Elizabeth Warren is doing it now, so it’s time for us to all get on board and elect her president.

My new energy and excitement for Elizabeth have been sparked by her most recent CNN Town Hall. It’s not that I had never heard of Elizabeth Warren before Monday night. As a true political junkie, I have read her books and have listened to her speak; I follow her on Twitter and have even considered considered purchasing “Nevertheless, she persisted” merch. I have also known about her candidacy for a while, but I’ll be honest, I tuned in on Monday night rooting for Mayor Pete. I ended my evening by declaring “Warren for president.” So what happened? I thought that people don’t change their mind in politics and that once you pick a candidate, you’re irreversibly committed.

Luckily, that doesn’t seem to be the case for a lot of voters this primary season. When I attended Kirsten Gillibrand’s announcement in March, I saw a guy with a Bernie button. Assuming that he’d be a heckler, I approached him and asked why he was there if he was already a Bernie Bro. He told me that he had actually received the pin at a rally, but was still undecided. He wanted to hear from all of the candidates before making a decision. I was floored. He was approaching this race the way everyone should. If we all are willing to have a civilized primary and avoid smearing or hurting any candidates, we can guarantee that when we have a nominee, they (she!) will be someone behind whom all Democrats can unite.

I am currently hoping that that someone is Elizabeth Warren. While I initially had an age bias — sue me, I’m a college student who wanted a more youthful candidate — I have realized that despite being 69, she carries herself with the energy and political passion of the students that sat through those five CNN Town Halls. You can only manage that if you are truly energized by politics. Before the Town Hall, I was intimidated by how frequently she has presented detailed policy proposals. I’m still intimidated, but that’s okay because it means that she is brilliant and prepared to take on this role. A presidential candidate having a lot of good ideas is a good thing. She has done her homework and her reading and as an overwhelmed college student, I’m impressed by how she manages all of that while also being a senator and running a campaign.

Maybe you are like that guy at the announcement and unsure who will eventually earn your primary vote or maybe you have already made up your mind. Either way, I urge you to remain open and listening until the convention because there may be room for a new candidate in your heart. Someone you don’t expect may inspire you. Hearing the words “it’s what girls do,” inspired me. Well, Elizabeth, if running for president is what girls do, than I hope electing women is what we do.

--

--