Can a weakness become a strength? Book#57

John
Shoulders of Giants
2 min readOct 30, 2016

--

Short note. I recently got interested in the theme of business disrupters. They are often outsiders that no one expected and who started drafting ideas from a blank sheet of paper. Think about Airbnb or Uber. That reminded me of David fighting Goliath with an unexpected weapon. Hence this is what got me to this book by Malcom Gladwell which I read in the fall of 2015.

The real battles are won by the element of surprise. Attack from an angle that nobody expects. Make a strength out of a weakness.

Remember that both Garry Cohn, the number 2 at Goldman Sachs, and Richard Branson had dyslexia. It forced them to work with something else. Their great memories.

My purpose in life is independence, fulfilment and a better understanding of how the world works. Like Charlie Munger, I believe in the discipline of mastering the best that other people have ever figured out. And like Sir Isaac Newton, I believe in our ability to see further than any others before us by acknowledging that we are standing on the shoulders of giants. With this blog I hope to keep track of my learning about investing, business, decision making, entrepreneurship and self development while inspiring others to do the same. For the moment the format of this blog will be one post for each book that has influenced me, but I expect it to evolve over time. Join my Journey. John.

--

--

John
Shoulders of Giants

Lifelong learner. Family man. In love with the idea of owning above average businesses at below average prices.