Keto Tracking: How I track my nutrition and macros

Mary Lucus-Flannery
My Keto Story
Published in
2 min readOct 17, 2016

Step One:

I used this calculator to determine my macros.

Step Two:

I use the My Fitness Pal app (free) to track my food.

The reason I use this app is that I can customize my food goals with my macros and not have the app constantly telling me I am eating too much fat and all the alternate “nutrition advise” I would get from using conventional settings.

Also, they have TONS of food items pre-programmed and I can build individual recipes for things I eat often.

Step Three:

Pay attention.

I make sure I log and review my macros as the day goes on so I can stay on track. I watch my my carbs extra carefully (look them up in advance) so they don’t go over (sending me into glucosis). And I make sure to get enough protein and not have my body eating muscle for fuel. (But not too much protein, because then it will convert to glucose and pop me out of ketosis.)

Hopefully, after I have been doing this CAREFULLY for a while I will know the macros on all my common foods and won’t have to be so anal.

Related Articles:

What the hell is a Ketogenic Diet

--

--

Mary Lucus-Flannery
My Keto Story

i love storytelling, making stuff, and learning to speak my truth.