I Threw A 20 Person Kid’s Halloween Party

And I Didn’t Want To Pull My Hair Out

Kim Fedyk
My Kind of Motherhood
4 min readOct 29, 2023

--

Over the weekend, my husband and I threw a kid’s Halloween party for our son. When we told people there were going to be 8 kids there under the age of 6, with their parents, everyone said we were crazy.

In all honesty, we thought they were probably right. But we were committed and we went all in, with costumes, themed food, and activities. And you know what? It didn’t suck. Not even a little bit. It was actually a wonderful experience and I argue it was more enjoyable than the crazy, drunken adult Halloween parties we had before the birth of our son.

Here’s why.

No Drama

Anyone who has ever thrown a party with “adults” where copious amounts of alcohol are involved knows that sooner or later there will be some sort of drama. Somebody’s boyfriend will say the wrong thing or somebody’s girlfriend will flirt with the wrong guy and when you combine that with a blood content mostly made of alcohol, shit can hit the fan real fast.

Kids are blissfully drama-free. Yes, they will fight or argue about whose turn it is to play Hungry Hippos or who gets to use the pink paint. They may even have a tantrum, but when it’s over it’s forgotten and the kids are best friends again. They don’t harbor…

--

--

Kim Fedyk
My Kind of Motherhood

Published author, wife and mom. I blog about motherhood, life and my self-publishing journey