Why You Should Learn in Public

Shu Omi
Shu Omi’s Blog
Published in
3 min readJun 12, 2020

--

I want to talk about a concept that became my principle. That is learning in public.

It simply means sharing what you’re working on with other people. It might be your hobby, side project, or just random facts you learned.

For example, tweeting about something you learned is a form of learning in public. And writing a blog post or making a Youtube video is also a form of learning in public.

But many people don’t share their work because they’re scared of being judged by other people.

I had this fear as well, and I still do sometimes. But, sharing my work and learning in public have been one of the best things I’ve ever done. Since i started sharing my work on Youtube and my blog, I got to learn faster, meet amazing people and build an audience online.

The reason you can learn faster when you share your work is that people give you feedback and share what they know with you.

For example, I often tweet about what I’m learning and instantly, I get replies and messages from people, who give me advice and tips on how to learn it.

--

--

Shu Omi
Shu Omi’s Blog

I’m a former data scientist and now a full-time creator. I share what I learned about personal knowledge management and building an online audience