Mother’s Day and Everyday

Donna Anglin Moraco
My Life in Colorado
3 min readMay 19, 2017

Mothers … The love that a parent has for a child is that unconditional love that transcends all. The bond between mothers and children is one of the strongest bonds on the planet. Even with extreme trials and many complex issues in life from tragedy to celebration — ask most of us about our moms and whether we still have them here on our journey through life or if they’ve left us for their next phase of journeying, we will pause and remember so many shared times.

I remember my own mother with such love and tenderness. I lost her very early in my life. It’s been almost 50 years ago now and to this very day, I miss her. Many of my life’s most celebrated moments have come and gone without her physical presence, but she lives in my heart day in and day out. When I became a mother myself, I carried within me the most amazing ideal of motherly love. I knew I would love being a mom, because I had had an amazing woman give me a foundation of acceptance, encouragement, and unfaltering love. I looked so forward to sharing that with my own child.

On this Mother’s Day 2017, I celebrated with my own family. My husband and my son spent the entire day with me. We shared meals together, we walked in nature around a beautiful lake in the crisp country Colorado air, and talked about life. We rejoiced at the gift of time. We took time for each other and paused our daily routines to tell one another we loved each other and how we cherished these moments. We also took time for other family members either through a phone call or a text message or a perusing of Facebook posts. I came to the end of the day with a feeling of such peace and love. I am so thankful for my family and especially happy that we took time with each other.

Say the things you want to say. Talk about things NOW that you think you’ll always have time to talk about. Hug one another. Ask more questions about each other. Share stories and secrets and laugh together. Don’t be afraid to cry together either — for as cliche as it may sound, life is short. As I sit here tonight, I cannot imagine that 1987 was 30 years ago! And as I’ve written stories here on Medium about my own childhood from the 1960s, I can barely imagine that those tales of life are things that happened 50 years ago.

Having lost my parents very early in my life, I have tried to live my own life without the assumption that there would always be tomorrow. Do things now. If you want to travel, find a way to have that adventure, whether it’s a short trip to a nearby town just to explore or whether it’s saving a little and jumping on that plane for Europe or some other longed for destination.

Call that friend or loved one you may have not seen or talked to for awhile. Have lunch together, arrange a rendezvous for tea or coffee or simply go for a walk or sit in a living room and converse.

If you have a dream in your heart that is as yet unfulfilled, begin with steps towards that dream. If today were your last one, what would it be that you would regret not having done. Just start now, take a small step toward that dream you’re carrying in your heart.

Above all else, tell the ones you love how special they are and share with them your hopes and dreams for their happiness as well. The celebration of Mother’s Day can be incorporated into everyday.

--

--

Donna Anglin Moraco
My Life in Colorado

Writer, traveler, mom, wife, retired Lt. Col USAF., and PhD