Our First Valentine

February 14th, 2014

Femi Senjobi
My Love Story
3 min readDec 12, 2018

--

It was barely 15 days into my relationship with Abisola and it was already valentine. She obviously came along with so much joy and colour. She came along with so much love. You know what I’ve come to realize, special days are not marked on the calendar. They are marked by people who touch us in ways we could not imagine. With people like Abisola in your life, you do not have to wait for a full calendar year for happy days to come around. Just like it was at that time, it still is today. “She’s never late. Anytime she shows up is the perfect time.”

I also remember an interesting discussion we had at the time. The issue about posting our relationship on Facebook came up. I remember the conclusion we came to. “It was not necessary for the world to know, once we have given our word, we have enough to hold on to.” Your word is our bond. Along with my conviction, they were enough to keep us going. And I think this is really important for anyone who might be in these shoes today. You do not need the world’s affirmation to know you’re with the right person. Seek your affirmations from God, not the public. Only God’s word and your commitment can.

A large number of likes or comments won’t save your relationship. The public does not necessarily add value to your relationship. But whenever you chose to be loud, remember to build a foundation solid enough to withstand the attention.

Abisola, the love of my Life

As the world’s lovers’ day dawns and everyone desires to make a lasting impact on the one whom they marked out, I would like to reaffirm my commitment to you.

I’m unrelenting in my quest to know you. I’m not turning back on this journey of life with you. I’m unrepentant in my love for you. Your happiness and comfort is my life’s business.

I am unwavering in seeking and pursuing God’s agenda. I truly desire a wonderful life and as such, one with eternal impact. You know what is even better? Having to do that together with you, the one I love.

I’ve said this before and I will like to reiterate that I chose you above all else. Without a doubt, many there be that appease the eyes. But to you, I hand the keys to the innermost.

I love you with all my heart. And I’m happy that I’m in love with you. I take you for your word. And I don’t need you to announce to the whole world that you love me too. And you do not have to let down your fence yet. That whisper in my ears, that wink in your eyes, that nod is just fine for me. That knowledge along with God’s grace will keep me patient.

I will patiently wait to unfold God’s gift to me daily. I will wait to have the portion due to me at the appropriate time. You’re such a blessing to me. One that spans beyond the happy moments and soothes the heart at low times. You are energy for my weak times, an inspiration at clueless times and a flash of inspiration for choking assignments.

I’m proud of your beauty
Captivated by your warmth
Enlightened by that legendary smile
Inspired by your energy and zeal
Overcame by your cheerful spirit
I am hopeful for our destiny
I believe God for great exploits
And I love you so much.

--

--

Femi Senjobi
My Love Story

Celebrate Justification | Participate in Sanctification | Anticipate Glorification