New WallpaperHub logo and wallpaper filtering

Michael Gillett
My Microsoft Life
Published in
2 min readDec 16, 2018

Today I’ve released a new update to WallpaperHub.app that introduces a new logo for the website and a way to filter the wallpapers on the site.

New Fluent Design logo

A couple of weeks back Microsoft announced new Fluent Design inspired icons for the Office apps. Since then it has become apparent that Microsoft will be updating more of its app’s icons with a Fluent design so I thought I would update the WallpaperHub app icon to follow the style.

For those of you that follow me on Twitter you might have seen me iterating this logo, there might be tweaks over the coming months as Microsoft reveals more of its icon designs but this is the design that works best for the site.

What do you think of the new logo?

New wallpaper filtering functionality

With the recent addition of the daily Bing wallpapers automatically appearing on the site there is a growing need to be able to filter wallpapers to find the ones you’re look for. To help with that I have added a new filtering system that allows you refine all the wallpapers by their:

  • Tags
  • Labels
  • Resolutions

This is also gave me an excuse to add some more Fluent Design styling to the site (some browsers don’t display this all that well, recent Edge versions are fine but Chrome might need “Experiment Web Features” turned on).

Let me know if you have any feedback about this new feature on WallpaperHub.app.

--

--

Michael Gillett
My Microsoft Life

Windows Insider MVP (MVP since 2012) | Lead Web Dev based in Camden, London