The 🚨📢NEW BUILD KLAXON📢🚨 is now automated

Michael Gillett
My Microsoft Life
Published in
2 min readAug 27, 2017

Keen twitter followers of mine might have noticed that I was up to something morning with a mysterious stream of “test” tweets coming from my account, well I’m pleased to announced the tests helped me to automate the 🚨📢NEW BUILD KLAXON📢🚨.

For those of you don’t know, any time I see Dona Sarkar cryptically tweet about a new Windows Insider build I will tweet about the klaxon. The problem with this though is that I don’t always see Dona’s tweet or I might see it later on in the day. What I really wanted to be able to do is to have a klaxon tweet sent out whenever Dona cryptically tweets.

Enter Microsoft Flow.

I have now managed to have this happen automatically (I think, at this point Dona hasn’t yet cryptically tweet a new build number) through using Microsoft Flow.

The flow works like this:

  1. Is triggered by any tweet containing “#WindowsInsiders”
  2. Checks that Dona tweeted it
  3. Run any images through Microsoft’s Cognitive Services Vision API to find any text on the images
  4. Checks if the images contain numbers starting with “15”, “16, or “17” (the start of a build number)
  5. Then tweets through a new account, “@NewBuildKlaxon”, the 🚨📢NEW BUILD KLAXON📢🚨 containing a link to Dona’s tweet

To enjoy this new automated outcome from Dona’s tweets make sure you follow “@NewBuildKlaxon” and, as suggested by Tom Warren, you could even set up notifications for that account as it will only tweet when a new build is coming.

The flow isn’t ideal and I will write a follow up post about how I think Flow can be improved but I think it will work for now.

Let me know your thoughts on this, is there anything else I could check to ensure the klaxon is only sounded for genuine cryptic tweet? Hopefully the klaxon will be sounding soon without any involvement from me.

--

--

Michael Gillett
My Microsoft Life

Windows Insider MVP (MVP since 2012) | Lead Web Dev based in Camden, London