Not An Outperformer (EN)

Darien Theodric
My Mnemonic
2 min readJan 13, 2021

--

Having reviewed your background and experience against the requirements of the role, we regret to inform you that we will not be progressing with your application at this stage.

It was early afternoon when I got the email adressing that I wasn’t gonna get passed to the next stage. I kind of saw this coming, but my heart had a little bit light of hope that I could somehow pass the first stage.

Yes, I didn’t even pass the first stage. Let’s just say that you were denied at the cafe door before you could order a nice hot coffee in the winter.

My often-overthinking mind didn’t spark any doubts against the result. It was a short email: concise, straight to the point, but the other side of myself thought that the referall from my friend wasn’t enough.

I wish the recruiter could see how this position would help myself tremendously to advance to the higher position, though I myself am not sure whether I want that top on the side of the world. We all like to reach the summit. It’s a nice thing, but we seldom ask the question: Is this the summit where I’m supposed to be?

I guess I am not an outperformer like the job title was written. I could argue back that, you know, “Where do you even base this outperformer from? Your own? Or I can insert my own criteria?”

While I ponder on the possibilities, I know deep inside that I need to outperform myself everyday. First things first: my own mind. The struggle to finish big projects is real. Multiple deadlines, chance of recurring setbacks and delays to my thesis dates, bureaucracies in the prgoress- you’ll never know.

But still, I need to progress.

Yeah, one might not outperform the best global talents in the world with near solid four-zero-zero summa cum laude and the star of global achievements, but one cannot ignore the fact that there’s always a choice: to finish, or not to.

This mind could wonder on countless tracks if this happens or that happens, but this deadline won’t finish by itself.

If I can’t outperform the world,
I guess I’ll outperform my own setbacks.

--

--

Darien Theodric
My Mnemonic

Content maker, blog writer, and story-teller. Based in Indonesia.