My Monthly Sports Minute: March 20, 2020

Jonathan Waddell
My Monthly Sports Minute
3 min readJul 15, 2020

It may not be an important date to all, but to me it was the date COVID-19 had an impact on my personal life. I wasn’t diagnosed with the virus. Yet, due to it, that was my last day in my office — as I walked out with my computer and work materials to begin a stint I am still experiencing of working from home. Schools were closed, sports were suspended, and less than two weeks later the world as we knew it came to a halt.

Then, we were all put on a quarantine.

We were mandated to stay at home. We even had a curfew. Unless it was absolutely necessary or deemed “essential,” no one was to go anywhere. Phrases like “social distancing” became the new norm.

Chaotic is a mild description of the world we’ve recently experienced.

People rushed to grocery stores stocking up on things they considered “essential” for themselves. As COVID took a stronghold on the world, news outlets continued to report spikes in the number of cases, deaths, and even hot spots around the clock. Social injustice and protest also became somewhat of a norm. Some people began to use their time and platforms to try and advocate for change, and racial equality — with the hope of making the world a better place. Even pro athletes have gotten involved while their respective sports have been suspended. Some have hit the streets with protesters.

It’s now been almost four months since the world came to a stand still.

As places continue to reopen, I now have my eyes set on two new important dates. July, 31, 2020 and August 10, 2020, respectively. The 1st date is the return of the NBA. The 2nd date is the tentative reopen date of children returning to school in Florida’s Orange and Seminole Counties.

Since the beginning, sports have always been used as a way to come together and compete regardless of background, religion, and ethnicity.

Sports have brought the world and people together for the common goal of competition and entertainment, while also offering an escape from the mundane and everyday troubles of “the real world.” On one hand, I have missed sports tremendously. But, at what risk are we looking to reopen schools and bring back sports? Players such as Avery Bradley (Lakers), Trevor Ariza (Trailblazers), and Wilson Chandler (Nets) have all cited health and family concerns as reasons for opting out of the NBA restart. Other players like Patrick Beverly (Clippers) have voiced concerns and displeasure, but they’ll still be playing at tip off. Even the NFL has concerns. Bruce Arians, head coach of the Buccaneers, has been quoted saying, “every player will get COVID….just a matter of how sick they will get”.

With outlooks so grim, should we really be in such a rush for reopening the world and sports?

Schools were originally shut down to try and help prevent the spread of COVID-19 among children especially those who are asymptomatic. Now, in less than a month, they are scheduled to be back in school. No cure, no real plan, and no help with the spread that will be inevitable. I continue to ask myself are these decisions good for the masses, or just another deterrent to the larger issues at hand in the world. As a concerned father, I want my child to enjoy everything that comes along with becoming a high school senior. I want her to complete high school in a normal fashion, including her participation in cheerleading and track.

Again, I ask will this be a move that will come with more consequences than rewards?

Everyone has their own opinion but truly only time will reveal the real truth. As the saying goes, men lie, women lie, numbers don’t. I will continue to trust God for provision and health. My family has been protected and minimally affected thus far and to God be the glory for that. Will reopening the world, restarting sports, and resuming school help the world and economy or hurt us in the end? You be the judge. Time will give us the true answers soon enough.

— Jonathan Waddell

--

--