My Monthly Sports Minute: Am I Still Trying to Be “Like Mike?”

Leroy Long III
My Monthly Sports Minute
2 min readMay 9, 2020

ESPN’s “The Last Dance” has me asking myself if I’m still trying to “be like Mike?”

Growing up, I wanted to be like Mike
Had so many Js, trying to be like Mike
But I actually preferred to call him MJ
My strengths were my D and my J
On the court, I wasn’t even half of MJ
(lines from my poem “A Hoop Dream”)

So, am I still trying to “be like Mike?”

Well, yes and no. Yes, I’m still extremely hardworking “like Mike.” I’m also hyper competitive “like Mike.” I’m also using sports to stack chips “like Mike.” But no, I’m not chasing “A Hoop Dream” like in my poem. And no, I’m not copping the newest pair of J’s anymore. I’m also not holding grudges but learning to forgive more.

It's hard to believe I'm now putting in work as an academic not an athlete. I'm competing against myself, not others. I'm using sports to go after grants, conduct research, and start up an LLC. My dream is now rooted in God's plan for me, to start and serve in a K-12 school. Instead of copping new Js, I'm reading up on stocks from companies like Nike and supporting more local or Black owned businesses. I've forgiven my father, exes, and doubters.

“Being like Mike” isn’t all bad but it no longer defines me. My identity is now built on how God sees me. I’m trying to “be like Jesus.”

— Leroy Long III, PhD

For more info. about me and my work related to sports checkout my site via: leroylongiii.com, leroylongiii.com/ease

You can also follow me on social media:
Twitter, IG: drleroylongiii

--

--

Leroy Long III
My Monthly Sports Minute

Husband | Educator | Artist | Author | Believer | Proverbs 3:5–6 | leroylongiii.com