My Monthly Sports Minute: Am I Still Trying to “Be Like Mike?” #9

Al Tomlinson
My Monthly Sports Minute
2 min readMay 25, 2020

My Monthly Sports Minute: Am I Still Trying to “Be Like Mike?” #9

Growing up as the younger brother of a big Michael Jordan fan, I never wanted to “be like Mike.” Although MJ led the Bulls to six NBA championships, in my eyes he played for my brother — Team Alex. My brother is two years older than me. So, as a kid, all I wanted to do was beat him in something to prove I wasn’t “little”, or watch his team lose to prove I wasn’t “always wrong.” Each June, I hoped Reggie Miller would hit a couple more game winning playoff three-point shots or Stockton and Malone could finally beat the Bulls in the Finals. Those non-Bulls championships would’ve been vindication, but they never came.

Eventually, I outgrew my childish dislike for MJ, became a big fan of the Air Jordan brand, and I started to appreciate what he accomplished on and off the court. Through MJ’s understudy, Kobe Bryant, I developed a great respect for his work ethic, competitive drive, and hunger for success. Kobe is my favorite basketball player of all-time. I’ve bricked many paper-ball jumpers in my lifetime. As I took each shot, I’ve never missed the opportunity to say “Kobe.” As a teen, I wanted Kobe’s confidence. As a young adult, I studied his response to adversity. As a professional, I want to match his focus and drive.

I guess you can say I wanted to “be like Kobe.” And, if you understand Kobe and MJ’s connection, then you’d think “being like Kobe” and “being like Mike” are mutually inclusive. Kobe’s game was “born from” MJ. Some feel his is the “second coming.” I believe in Jesus so I won’t go that far by referring to anyone as the actual “second coming.” Many argue where Kobe ranks among the greats, but few protest the nearly perfect grade he gets for his physical recital of Jordan’s game, also known as “Poetry in Motion.”

— Al Tomlinson, MBA

You can follow and learn more about me on social media:
LinkedIn: Al Tomlinson, Twitter: @alfromohio, Instagram: @atworkal

--

--

Al Tomlinson
My Monthly Sports Minute

Husband | Believer | College Athletics Professional | Leader | 100 Black Men of Austin| artomlinsoniii@gmail.com