My Monthly Sports Minute: Jersey Off, Hats On

Janese Constantine
My Monthly Sports Minute
3 min readAug 13, 2020

My days of juggling life as a Division 1 basketball player, college student, and young adult are in the past.

Wife, mommy, and college basketball coach are the hats I get to wear now — not exclusively and in no particular order. Some days, one hat gets worn more than the other. Needless to say, I have to wear other hats: daughter, sister, auntie, niece, cousin, and friend. I get pulled in multiple directions.

I have so many hats on deck.

You may be wondering, when is there ever time to focus on me, by only wearing my Janese hat? Well, that’s a different story for a different day because I may need to check the “lost and found” area for my Janese hat — that was just a joke, maybe a bad one, but I still laughed 😀

My days are constantly filled with thinking aloud, “is my husband good?” , “does my son PJ need this or that?”, and/or “who do I need to call today?” I often get asked the question: “what are you doing?” The answer is simple: “working.” When I say “working,” I mean all of my hats because my job(s) are truly never ending. Most days, I prepare meals, baby bottles, diaper bags, and other items my son needs for daycare. I also have to do laundry for my family, make recruiting calls, plan player workouts, and check work email.

While this may seem like a lot, I wouldn’t trade any of my hats for someone else’s.

I love my life and the madness that comes along with being a wife, mom, and coach. I “get to” love on many people and serve those around me. I “get to” positively impact others and put their needs ahead of mine. I “get to” support and love on my husband while he works extremely hard to provide for and take care of our family. I “get to” play with PJ and chase him all around our house while he gets into everything he isn’t supposed to even touch. I “get to” do a job I love that involves leading young women to be the best version of themselves on and off the court.

About 2 months ago, I thought life had something else in store for me because I was a SAHM (Stay At Home Mom). But, I’m glad God saw that wasn’t for me lol! Being a SAHM is really a full-time job in itself. Kudos to every hard-working momma out there who’s doing it, because it’s no easy task. I’m just not sure that task was for me. I love coaching! I don’t know what else I would be doing if I wasn’t coaching. It’s a blessing to serve young people every day and to impact their lives in such a positive way. The wins/losses aren’t the end game because those will come and go. I “measure” myself by the difference I strive to make in young women’s lives. I want them to be the very best they can be every day and for them to be better than they were yesterday.

I wear each of my hats with a smile on my face and joy in my heart.

If I ever seem tired, it’s because I probably am. I never said wearing so many hats was easy. I believe, regardless of the hat I’m currently wearing, God has equipped me with everything I need to be my best self. I believe He has given me many ministries, for the growth of the Kingdom. In this lifetime, the only way I’ll consider myself a failure will be if all of my work is done in vain and I haven’t helped lead others closer to Christ. That is the epitome of success for me. I want my marriage to be Christ like. I want my son to grow up with a desire to love God with all his heart, mind, and strength. I want my players to confidently believe that God created them in their own image, and that they are His beautiful children.

I’m so thankful for my many hats!

— Janese Constantine

--

--

Janese Constantine
My Monthly Sports Minute

Christ Follower| Wife | Mother | College WBB Coach | Roll Tide | Energy Giver | Sports Lover | Wisconsin Badger Alum | Romans 8:28