My Monthly Sports Minute: Reopening Sports

Packy Baker
My Monthly Sports Minute
2 min readJul 17, 2020

To reopen or not to reopen? That is the question.

The National Basketball Association has finalized its decision to reopen and keep players in a “bubble.” So, NBA basketball fans from all around the world are hoping to watch their favorite players return to action soon.

Recently, I noticed Major League Soccer initiated a comeback only to experience a huge set back. An entire MLS team could not play because of some positive COVID cases.

Major League Baseball is set to return later this month for a 60-game season, which has given baseball fans a “glimmer of hope.”

Football fans are still at the edge of their seats anticipating that “America’s favorite sport” will be able to return in some way this fall.

I would be remiss if I did not mention the fact that professional golf and NASCAR have been well under way for weeks now. Surprisingly, I have not heard or seen any stories of positive COVID tests come out of either sport.

I hope it has nothing to do with politics, but I feel like sports that are dominated by Black players have had a microscope on them. On the other hand, sports that are dominated by White athletes have mostly been open and making money. I know how important it is to have continued testing and safe environments for all athletes who are involved, both Black and White players. So, why does there appear to be a difference in media coverage across sports?

It has been hard for professional sports teams to be on pause. Athletes across the world have had to find another way to engage in sports or team activities.

Once COVID let to a pandemic in the United States, the school, where I work, became an environment of concern. The same was true of the salon that my family owns. The virus started out as an “extended spring break,” then it led to my school and business being forced to shut down. Once our salon closed, my wife and I realized how serious the virus actually was. The current outbreak is definitely like watching a pandemic movie play out in real life.

As I refer back to my opening question (to re-open or not to reopen?), I am somewhat perplexed. I’ve been scratching my head and wondering which way to go. Ultimately, if it can be done safely, I am for re-opening sports and schools. We’ve already been able to reopen our salon. But, I’m concerned because there’s been so much new and limited information.

I love sports, my job, and our salon but protecting my family is my main goal.

— Packy Baker

--

--

Packy Baker
My Monthly Sports Minute

Believer/Husband/Father/School Counselor/Youth Basketball Coach/Hobbs Eagle/NMMI Alumni