My Movie-Watching Stats for 2016

I spent a lot of time at the cinema

Evan Rindler
My Movie Life
2 min readJan 2, 2017

--

Stats!

Following my Best and Worst of movie lists, I thought I’d crunch the numbers on my viewing statistics for 2016. Here’s some observations:

I watched a movie on 253 occasions in 2016. That averages to .69 films a day. That’s in the ballpark of 26,000 minutes.

138 of them were viewed in a movie theater. I attended a film marathon and a film festival, which helped bolster that number and my total.

74 movies on my list I had seen before. In a few cases, I viewed films more than once, so their first and second times were both in 2016.

This leaves 41 movies that I watched at home which I had never seen before. That averages to .79 older films a week.

I took a few minutes to rank and rate all of the 2016 movies I saw. Based on that cursory run-thru, my average score is 6.34/10, my median is 7/10 and my mode is also 7/10.

I gave 17 individual films a 1/10 and 20 individual films 10/10.

Here is a list of the films I watched in chronological order, and those ratings.

--

--