Fitness for the time poor

Roxanna
My Muscle Chef
Published in
2 min readFeb 9, 2016

Sometimes getting in your daily hour of training is nearly impossible once you take away 8–10 hours for work, 3 hours travel time (if living in Sydney….maybe 4 hours), meal prep, social events, looking after kids, doctor’s appointments, nail appointments, movies with mum. What ever it is, we have busy lives!

So last week, I had one of those days. I had interviews up until 6:30pm, faced an hour and a half travel home, needed to stop into Woolies and had planned to go to the movies with mum. My 1 hour session of strength and hypertrophy just wasn’t going to happen.

So instead, I did a quick 15 minute workout. By now you’ve probably heard of Crossfit. I took the elements of crossfit, knew I was going to train shoulders, so I took from my usual exercise and created a workout.

If you’re time poor i recommend setting time caps and trying to get in as many rounds as possible.

Using my session as an example, shoulders in 15 mins.

I knew my strength and hypertrophy session would have consisted of shoulder press, lateral raises, front raises, front pulls and high pulls.

So here’s what i did:

AMRAP (As many rounds as possible) in 15 minutes:

  • Shoulder Press x 5
  • Lateral Raise x 10
  • Front Raises x 10
  • Thrusters x 10
  • High Pulls x 10

No rest in between exercises or rounds. I managed to get 4 rounds in which was a total of 180 reps with a very elevated heart rate.

Play around and have fun with your training :-)

--

--