My Music: Pink Guy and the Art of Being Offensive

Brendan Ulmer
My Music
Published in
1 min readDec 12, 2018

Pink Guy is a genius, change my mind.

Pink Guy was the brainchild of Joji, who is actually a pretty chill dude, however if you just judged him by the personality of his characters you would never guess that this is the case.

Pink Guy was pretty much exactly what his name entailed, a guy in a pink suit who sung songs.

Songs of which the language and messages were so ludicrously offensive that anyone who takes them seriously have, in my opinion, already decided to be offended.

I get the critique, ‘he’s just trying to be offensive, thats pretty cheap comedy’, I believe that this is a very valid point, except for the fact that he’s so offensive to a degree that I don’t believe it could be naturally replicated in real life, unless I’m a lot less disturbed than I think I am.

This is why I find him so funny, he’s using verbal absurdism. When he’s not being absolutely absurd, sometimes he manages to capture the true feelings you experienced when you’re the most fired up in a certain way.

Anyways I hope my parents never see this.

--

--