My Music: What I’ve Learned About Myself

Brendan Ulmer
My Music
Published in
1 min readDec 14, 2018

Avid fans of South Park will recall an episode in which the new age popular music just sounds like farts to a handful of people.

If I lived in the world in which the South Park reality exists, I would probably be one of theses people, the people who have a condition that the show refers to as being a “Cynical Asshole”.

You see, I just straight up can’t sign on to like 85% of what the mainstream brings to the table.

I still have that 15% though.

So all in all, I think I can sign on to the 15% of the mainstream music I don’t think is mindless corporate dribble.

I just wished that it stopped being a joyless cash grab and started to become an embracement of diverse experiences and ideas, and letting them use that to define their own creative process.

I think what I most appreciate is creative individualism.

--

--