Queen: The Best Pop Band Ever

Brendan Ulmer
My Music
Published in
2 min readDec 12, 2018

I have weird taste

I find that the quality of pop music in a certain era depends on how many drugs were being consumed by the general population during this time period. I love the psychedelic and creative vibe of 70’s rock and detest the bland, cookie cutter, corporate sound of the early 2010’s soft rock phase.

Queen to me is the peak of what a band can do under the shackles of the Pop title. Seriously, they have hit after hit in there discography and I don’t think I’m crazy to think that literally everyone I’ve ever met has heard a Queen song whether they know it or not.

I also love how their songs aren’t cheap hits, none of them sound generic or forced, like they were trying to be creative as a label executive was breathing down their necks. I can listen to them and think, ‘this is creative, this is new and this sounds amazing’ because they all are!

Additionally each member of Queen has contributed something incredibly popular into there overall discography, Brian May’s striking guitar riffs on “We Will Rock You”, John Deacons bouncing bass chords on “Another One Bites The Dust”, Roger Taylors forceful drums on “Don’t Stop Me Now”, it’s all amazing.

Then there is Freddie, an Icon in every sense of the word. There is no range that Freddie could not perfect, that dude legitimately had some of the best pipes in human history. Don’t even get me started on his bold outfits and fierce, yet ambiguously presented sexuality.

The teeth, the hair, the mustache, I love everything about him.

I don’t care what any critic says either, “Bohemian Rhapsody” is an amazing movie, not just from the perspective of a Queen biopic, but I believe you wouldn’t have to even know Queens music in order to enjoy the movie, it’s that good.

Sure, Freddie may have been presented, momentarily, in a negative light but he was the main character, and he was human, so of course there were peaks and valleys in his character development.

Maybe it is kinda suspect that the living members of Queen are the ones who didn’t have their flaws exploited for the sake of entertainment, but what do you expect. No one is buying a ticket to see what complications going on tour may have had on John Deacons marriage, get a grip. Of course want to see high-on-himself (among other things) Freddie Mercury strut around his mansion party dressed as a king, because that’s the Freddie we all fell in love with, but we also want to be there to see the sobering come down that leaves Freddie stooped in his own loneliness because we like to know that these larger than life icons, at the end of the day are just like us.

Anyways, sorry for ranting at you, it’s just that the music of Queen is one of the few things that can absolutely bulldoze the built up cynicism that I hold toward popular culture, it’s really quite lovely.

--

--